

609 POLICY - State Authorization

609.1 Statement of Policy

Redlands Community College is licensed to provide postsecondary educational programs by the Oklahoma State Constitution.

The Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education is the State's legal structure for providing public education at the collegiate level. The Constitution of Oklahoma and the Oklahoma Higher Education Code as enacted by the 1955 Legislature and as amended during subsequent sessions provide the legal framework for the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education to develop and implement policies and procedures necessary to maximize the functioning of this structure.

The criteria and procedures to be followed in implementing this policy are published in the Procedures section of the Policies and Procedures Manual.

Adopted March 2017



609 PROCEDURE - State Authorization

609.1:1 Statement of Procedure

Higher Education, as the term is used in Section I of Article XIII-A, Constitution of Oklahoma, and House Bill No. 810, Chapter 396, Section 102, Session laws 1965, is defined "...to include all education of any kind beyond or in addition to the twelfth grade or its equivalent as that grade is now generally understood and accepted in the public schools of the State of Oklahoma; provided, however, that this shall not exclude as a constituent institution any institution of higher learning which now offers as a part of its curriculum courses of high school study."

609.1:2 Oklahoma State System of Higher Education

- A. All institutions of higher education supported wholly or in part by direct legislative appropriations shall be integral parts of a unified system to be known as "The Oklahoma State System of Higher Education." (Oklahoma Constitution, Article XIII-A, Section I)
- B. There is hereby established the Oklahoma Regents for Higher Education, consisting of nine (9) members appointed by the Governor, confirmed by the Senate, and who shall be removable only for cause, as provided by law for the removal of officers not subject to impeachment. Upon the taking effect of this Article, the Governor shall appoint the said Regents for terms of office as follows: one for a term of one year, one for a term of two years, one for a term of three years, one for a term of four years, one for a term of five years, one for a term of six years, one for a term of seven years, one for a term of eight years and one for a term of nine years. Any appointment to fill a vacancy shall be for the balance of the term only. Except as above designated, the term of office of said Regents shall be nine years or until their successors are appointed and qualified.
- C. The Regents shall constitute a coordinating board for all State institutions described in Section I hereof, with the following specific powers: (1) it shall prescribe standards of higher education applicable to each institution; (2) it shall determine the functions and courses of study in each of the institutions to conform to the standards prescribed; (3) it shall grant degrees and other forms of academic recognition for completion of the prescribed courses in all of such institutions; (4) it shall recommend to the State Legislature the budget allocations to each institution, and (5) it shall have the power to recommend to the Legislature proposed fees for



all of such institutions, and any such fees shall be effective only within the limits prescribed by the Legislature. (Oklahoma Constitution, Article XIII-A, Section 2)

609.1:3 Institutions of the Oklahoma State System of Higher Education

The following institutions are included in The Oklahoma State System of Higher Education: (610:1-1-3)

- University of Oklahoma, Norman
- Oklahoma State University, Stillwater
- University of Central Oklahoma, Edmond
- East Central University, Ada
- Northeastern State University, Tahlequah
- Northwestern Oklahoma State University, Alva
- Southeastern Oklahoma State University, Durant
- Southwestern Oklahoma State University, Weatherford
- Cameron University, Lawton
- Langston University, Langston
- Oklahoma Panhandle State University, Goodwell
- University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma, Chickasha
- Carl Albert State College, Poteau
- Connors State College of Agriculture and Applied Science, Warner
- Eastern Oklahoma State College, Wilburton
- Murray State College, Tishomingo
- Northeastern Oklahoma Agricultural and Mechanical College, Miami
- Northern Oklahoma College, Tonkawa
- Oklahoma City Community College, Oklahoma City
- Redlands Community College, El Reno
- Rogers State College, Claremore
- Rose State College, Midwest City
- Seminole State College, Seminole
- Tulsa Community College, Tulsa
- Western Oklahoma State College, Altus



609.1:4 State Authorization for Distance Education

Redlands Community College meets the requirements to participate in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA). Redlands Community College received approval from the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education in October 2015. In addition, Redlands Community College is an approved institution by the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA). More details can be found following the links below:

- Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education http://www.okhighered.org/admin-fac/sara/#app
- National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement http://nc-sara.org/

609.1:5 Federal Regulation

This policy and procedure was created and is maintained to be in compliance with Federal regulation 34 CFR 600.2, 600.4(a)(3), 600.5(a)(4), 600.6(a)(3), 600.9, and 600.4(a).

Adopted March 2017